top of page
  • deella

Top 5 Reasons to Live in Cumming, Georgia!

Updated: Jun 9, 2020




Hi all, DeElla here with Hoberg Homes. My family and I live in beautiful Cumming, Georgia the county seat of Forsyth County. We have lived in Cumming for about 9 years now and have made this gorgeous corner of the world our home. I want to share with you my top reasons to love living in Forsyth County!


1. THE GREAT OUTDOORS! If you like the outdoors you will love it here! Cumming, Ga is on the south side of Lake Lanier where you can enjoy boating, kayaking, walking and hanging out at the beach! Beyond Lake Lanier, Forsyth County has a massive and well maintained park system that has everything from walking trails, shaded mountain bike areas, skate parks, dog parks, organized sporting events and so much more. We also love hiking Sawnee mountain and fishing and tubing on the Chatahoochee River.


2. FANTASTIC SCHOOLS! One of the reasons my family moved to Cumming was the school system. I have two bright, amazing, talented children (not just a mom talking- I promise) and yet we could not afford to live somewhere that we would have to pay for a private education. After endless research, we decided to move to Forsyth County to give our kids the best educational opportunities in the North Atlanta area. To check out the schools- hop on over to my website here.


3. A SAFE PLACE TO LIVE! Forsyth County has low crime. I am not naive enough to think that there is no crime, or that we should all leave our doors unlocked, and yet this is one of the safest places in the state to live. Don't believe me? Check out this article from the sheriff.


4. GROWTH! Forsyth County is one of the wealthiest and fastest growing counties in the nation. To me, this means a sustainable place to work and enjoy businesses. We do have to fund our lives after all :)


5. LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION!!! Forsyth County is just 30 miles North of the center of Atlanta, the biggest and most vibrant city in the south. Alpharetta, the tech hub of the South is just a couple of exits away. The North Georgia mountains, wineries and the Appalachian trail are just a short drive North. For convenience sake, shopping and dining destinations are booming! Pretty much anything you would ever need is right here! (Except for Trader Joe's... I digress.)


If you aren't convinced why Cumming, Georgia is a great place to live by now, let me just tell you a couple of other shocking things that I have experienced here. I have never waited in line at the DMV to renew my car tags. The folks I deal with at Forsyth County Development office are so nice and helpful, I feel myself wanting to check for a hidden camera. When I called the county about a pothole- they were out to fix it the next week! In two different neighborhoods, we actually know, talk to and regularly hang out with our neighbors. My children's teachers care enough to call, not just email, when one of my angels hits a speed bump. Now, I know, this last bit is anecdotal and won't be the experience for everyone who lives here and yet the people of this county are what makes it truly home for me.

4 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page